University of Minnesota
University Relations

Banner Image Go to the MN Taconite Workers Health Study Homepage
Home > Partnership >

Study Partners

Educational and Research Institutions

Health Care Providers

  • Community Memorial Hospital (Cloquet)
  • Cook Hospital (Cook)
  • Deer River Health Care Center (Deer River)
  • Ely Bloomenson Hospital (Ely)
  • Falls Memorial Hospital (International Falls)
  • Grand Itasca Clinic and Hospital (Grand Rapids)
  • Lake View Memorial Hospital (Two Harbors)
  • Miller Dwan Medical Center (Duluth)
  • Riverwood Healthcare Center (Aitkin)
  • St. Luke's Bay Area Health Center (Silver Bay)
  • St. Luke's Hospital (Duluth)
  • St. Mary's Medical Center (Duluth)
  • University Medical Center-Mesabi (Hibbing)
  • Virginia Regional Medical Center (Virginia)
  • White Community Hospital (Aurora)


Mining Companies

  • Hibbing Taconite Company
  • Keewatin Taconite
  • Minntac
  • Mittal Steel USA – Minorca Mine
  • North Shore Mining Company
  • United Taconite LLC



  • Steelworkers Organization of Active Retirees
  • United Steelworkers of America


  • Minnesota Legislators
    • Rep. Tom Anzelc
    • Sen. Tom Bakk
    • Rep. Karen Clark
    • Rep. David Dill
    • Sen. John Marty
    • Former Rep. Carolyn McElfatrick
    • Rep. Carly Melin
    • Rep. Jason Metsa
    • Rep Mary Murphy
    • Rep. John Persell
    • Former Rep. Tom Rukavina
    • Sen. Tom Saxhaug
    • Sen. David Tomassoni

Local Agencies

  • Itasca County Health and Human Services
  • Lake County Human Services
  • Range Association of Municipalities and Schools
  • St. Louis County Public Health and Human Services


State Agencies

  • Iron Range Resources
  • Minnesota Building Trades
  • Minnesota Department of Health
  • Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
  • Minnesota Hospital Association
  • Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Federal Agencies

  • Mine Safety and Health Administration

Joining the Partnership

The University of Minnesota welcomes interested organizations to express interest in joining the Partnership by sending an e-mail to or by leaving a message at (612) 625-4578.